About us

Über uns

Since 2014 basis wien has run the Documentation Centre for Contemporary Art in and from Austria with reference to international contexts in cooperation with the University of Applied Arts Vienna. It archives material on art production, presentation and reception in analogue and digital form. The gathered information is made available at a free-access online database.

READ MORE...

The documentation consists of biographical data on persons engaged in the Austrian art world (artists, curators, critics, etc.) and information on art institutions, exhibitions, projects and publications. A major advantage of Art and ResearchDatabase is that most of its texts and images can be read or viewed online. That is, it does not merely put on the Net an index of archive materials or artist biographies in the form of exhibition lists; the interested public can directly use the bulk of the source material.

Besides the database, basis wien makes available to the interested public about 30,000 archive materials in suspension files and a reference library of about 4,500 volumes in the premises of basis wien in the 15th district of Vienna.

The goal is to document the Austrian art scene in a way that portrays the full breadth of its artistic discourse at various levels (personal, institutional, medial) and with transparency. A further concern of ours is the recording of the projects of art academies and their graduates and the activities of off spaces and artists initiatives.

 

Team

Our team consists of:

Helene Baur
Helene.Baur(at)basis-wien.at

Verena Lindner
Verena.Lindner(at)basis-wien.at

Andrea Neidhöfer
Andrea.Neidhoefer(at)basis-wien.at

über uns

Über uns

Die basis wien betreibt, seit 2014 in Kooperation mit der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, das Dokumentationszentrum zur aktuellen Kunst in und aus Österreich unter Berücksichtigung internationaler Kontexte. Die daraus gewonnenen Informationen werden in einer kostenfrei zugänglichen Online-Datenbank publiziert.

MEHR LESEN...

Inhalt der Dokumentation bilden biographische Daten zu Personen des österreichischen Kunstbetriebes (Künstler_innen, Kurator_innen, Kritiker_innen, etc.) sowie Informationen zu Kunstinstitutionen, Ausstellungen, Projekten und Publikationen. Ein wesentlicher Vorteil der Kunst- und Forschungsdatenbank ist die Möglichkeit, die meisten in der Datenbank erfassten Texte und Bilder online lesen bzw. einsehen zu können. Es wird also nicht nur ein Index der Archivmaterialien bzw. Künstlerbiographien in Form von Ausstellungslisten ins Netz gestellt. Interessen_innen können einen Großteil des Quellenmaterials direkt benutzen.

Neben der Online Datenbank steht der interessierten Öffentlichkeit ein Archiv mit ca. 30.000 Archivalien in Hängeregistraturen und eine Präsenzbibliothek mit ca. 4.500 Bänden in den Räumlichkeiten der basis wien im 15. Wiener Gemeindebezirk zur Verfügung.

Das Ziel der basis wien ist es, eine Dokumentation des österreichischen Kunstgeschehens zu erstellen, die den Kunstdiskurs in seiner gesamten Breite und auf den verschiedenen Ebenen (personell, institutionell, medial) transparent abbildet. Die Erfassung von Projekten von Akademie- und Hochschulabgänger_innen sowie der Aktivitäten von Offspaces und Künstler_inneninitiativen ist ebenfalls ein besonderes Anliegen der basis wien.

 

Team

Das Team besteht aus:

Helene Baur
Helene.Baur(at)basis-wien.at

Verena Lindner
Verena.Lindner(at)basis-wien.at

Andrea Neidhöfer
Andrea.Neidhoefer(at)basis-wien.at