Project in the European Commission’s support programme Culture 2000

The project vector – European Art Archives was started in 1999 as a cooperation of various archives and exhibition spaces. The goals were to establish a decentralised network of stored archive content based on methods of scholarly standardisation, and the installation of a central, internet-accessible interface for querying locally-run databases. basis wien acted as initiator and project manager.


From the beginning, the working group was based on the view that art cannot be documented by a summary listing of materials. It saw all actors participating in artistic production and distribution processes as vectors that point to other actors: from the individual production of an art work through the personal and local surroundings of an art gallery and media presence to presentation at international festivals (such as documenta, biennials, etc.). Each of these manifestations represents a vectorial quantity in a space that it on the one hand shapes and on the other hand shapes it. This complex and dynamic structure can be represented by vectors and made available as a publicly accessible database.

The focus was on the working out of scholarly and technological foundations for the development of materials on contemporary art in variously structured institutions.

The results of this basic research were then published in a handbook: Archiving the Present – Gegenwart dokumentieren, (ed.) Lioba Reddeker, Wien: basis wien, 2007.

Out of the collaboration also arose a first model of an interface, which was developed by basis wien together with two Swiss guest partners, the Kunstbulletin and the Swiss Institute for Art Research SIK: the European art portal EAN.

The vector project was supported by the European Commission as part of its Culture 2000 programme from 2000 to 2003. The following were participating institutions:

# Consortium partners

Archives de la Critique d’Art, Rennes
documenta Archiv, Kassel
John Hansard Gallery of the University of Southampton
Museion – Museum for Modern Art, Bozen
Central Archive of the International Art Trade, Bonn

# Associated partners

Research Center for Artist’s Publications WESERBURG, Bremen
Academic Research Centre of the Academy of Fine Arts, Prague
Contemporary Arts Centre, Skopje
Institute for Modern Art e.V., Nuremberg
Kunstbulletin, Zürich
Moderna Galerija, Ljubljana
Ludwig Múzeum, Budapest
Neue Galerie Graz / Univeralmuseum Joanneum, Graz
AIT – Applied Information Technology Research LLC, Graz

Vektor

Projekt im Förderprogramm Culture 2000 der Europäischen Kommission

Das Projekt vektor – European Art Archives wurde 1999 als Kooperation verschiedener Archive und Ausstellungshäuser gestartet. Zielsetzung waren eine Vernetzung dezentral gelagerter Archivinhalte durch wissenschaftliche Standardisierungsmethoden und die Installierung einer zentralen, über das Internet zugänglichen Schnittstelle zur Abfrage lokal geführter Datenbanken. Die basis wien agierte dabei als Initiatorin und Projektleitung.

MEHR LESEN...

Der Arbeitsgemeinschaft lag von Beginn an die Auffassung zugrunde, dass sich die Dokumentation von Kunst nicht in der summarischen Auflistung von Material erschöpft – alle am Produktions- und Distributionsprozess von Kunst beteiligten Akteure werden als Vektoren verstanden, die auf andere Akteure verweisen: von der individuellen Produktion eines Kunstwerkes, über das persönliche und lokale Umfeld einer Galerie, über die mediale Vermittlung bis zur Präsentation auf internationalen Festivals (wie documenta, Biennalen etc.). Jede dieser Manifestationen stellt eine gerichtete Größe in einem Raum dar, den sie damit einerseits formt, andererseits von ihm geformt wird. Über vektor sollte dieses komplexe und dynamische Gefüge darstellbar und als offen zugängliche Datenbank(en) abfragbar gemacht werden.

Fokus lag auf der Erarbeitung wissenschaftlicher und technologischer Grundlagen zur Erschließung von Materialien der zeitgenössischen Kunst in verschieden strukturierten Institutionen.

Die Ergebnisse dieser Grundlagenforschung wurden schließlich in dem Handbuch “Archiving the Present – Gegenwart dokumentieren” publiziert.

Außerdem entstand aus der Zusammenarbeit ein erstes Modell einer Schnittstelle, das die basis wien gemeinsam mit zwei Gastpartnern aus der Schweiz, dem Kunstbulletin und dem Schweizerischen Institut für Kunstwissenschaft SIK, entwickelte: das europäische Kunstportal EAN.

Das im Rahmen des von der Europäischen Kommission geleiteten “Culture 2000″-Programms von 2000 bis 2003 geförderte vektor-Projekt involvierte folgende Institutionen:

# als Konsortiumpartner_innen
Archives de la Critique d’Art, Rennes
documenta Archiv, Kassel
John Hansard Gallery der Unversity of Southampton
Museion – Museum für Moderne Kunst, Bozen
Zentralarchiv des internationalen Kunsthandels, Bonn

# als assoziierte Partner_innen
Studienzentrum für Künstlerpublikationen / WESERBURG, Bremen
Academic Research Centre of the Academy of Fine Arts, Prag
Contemporary Art Center, Skopje
Institut für Moderne Kunst Nürnberg, Nürnberg
Kunstbulletin, Zürich
Moderna Galerija, Ljubljana
Ludwig Múzeum, Budapest
Neue Galerie Graz / Universalmuseum Joanneum, Graz
AIT – Angewandte Informationstechnik Forschungsgesellschaft mbH, Graz