EAN – european-art.net

The European Art Net is a follow-up project of the EU project vector, which was conducted under the guidance of basis wien and is devoted to the recording and accessing of materials on contemporary art in accordance with scholarly principles.

EAN is an open association of various archives of contemporary art. All participating institutions have made it their mission to collect and preserve materials on contemporary art and to record and make them available in accordance with scholarly standards of archiving. This diverse information is made publicly available under the address www.european-art.net in the form of a portal, which went online in December 2002. The common search engine allows simultaneous queries across multiple, distributed databases. The United List of Artist Names (ULAN) of the American Getty Institute was the inspiration for this retrieval system, whose search function is still being extended and currently makes available numerous data sets on persons, groups and institutions.

In 2011 the Swiss Institute for Art Research SIK-ISEA took over management of the project from basis wien and the Swiss magazine Kunstbulletin, which had hitherto jointly performed this task. In 2017 basis wien will again assume chairmanship of the network.

Partner institutions beside basis wien, Kunstbulletin and SIK-ISEA in Zurich include documenta Archiv in Kassel, National Museum of Contemporary Art MNAC in Bucharest, Institut für moderne Kunst in Nürnberg, Moderna galerija in Ljubljana, Zentralarchiv des internationalen Kunsthandels ZADIK in Köln, Centre for Artists Publications in Bremen, as well as Kunst- und Museumsbibliothek der Stadt Köln and the project artlog.net by Kunstbulletin.

www.european-art.net

EAN – european-art.net

Das European Art Net ist ein Folgeprojekt des EU-Projektes vektor, das sich unter der Leitung der basis wien wissenschaftlichen Methoden der Erfassung und Erschließung von Materialien zur zeitgenössischen Kunst widmete.

EAN versteht sich als offene Vereinigung verschiedener Archive zeitgenössischer Kunst. Alle beteiligten Institutionen haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Materialien zur zeitgenössischen Kunst zu sammeln, zu bewahren und gemäß wissenschaftlichen Standards der Archivierung zu erfassen und zu erschließen. Diese Vielfalt an Informationen wird in Form eines Portals unter der Adresse www.european-art.net öffentlich zugänglich gemacht, das im Dezember 2002 erstmals online ging. Die gemeinsame Suchmaske ermöglicht gleichzeitige Abfragen über mehrere, verteilte Datenbanken. Die „United List of Artist Names“ (ULAN) des amerikanischen Getty Institute stand ursprünglich Pate für dieses Retrieval System, das in seiner Suche noch ausgebaut wurde und zahlreiche Datensätze zu Personen, Gruppen und Institutionen zur Verfügung stellt.

2011 übernahm das Schweizerische Institut für Kunstwissenschaft SIK-ISEA die Projektleitung von der basis wien und dem schweizerischen Magazin Kunstbulletin, die diese Aufgabe bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt gemeinsam wahrgenommen hatten. 2017 wird die basis wien wieder den Vorsitz des Netzwerks übernehmen.

Partnerinstitutionen sind neben basis wien, Kunstbulletin und SIK-ISEA in Zürich, das documenta Archiv in Kassel, das National Museum of Contemporary Art MNAC in Bukarest, das Institut für moderne Kunst in Nürnberg, die Moderna galerija in Ljubljana, das Zentralarchiv des internationalen Kunsthandels ZADIK in Köln, das Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen Weserburg in Bremen, sowie die Kunst- und Museumsbibliothek der Stadt Köln und das Projekt artlog.net des Kunstbulletin.

www.european-art.net